I now finished my second slipcover for a chair and ottoman. I don’t have any great method of making them, but this second time around I decided I would try and work from the measurements of the chair.

Here are the original chair and ottoman! I cut off the skirts of each using my pinking shears.

Note: I realized I should have taken pictures as I did this project, but I didn’t so I took some pictures after I was done. Hopefully those help!

These are my beginning dimensions and how I cut my fabric:

Ottoman Dimensions: 23 wide x 18 long x 10 tall

  • cut 1: 24″ x 19″ rectangle
  • cut 2: 24″ x 11.5″ rectangles (long)
  • cut 2: 19″ x 11.5″ rectangles (short)

Draw a 1″ line on the back of the 24″ x 11.5″ and 24″ x 11.5″ rectangles on the longest side. This will give you a 1/2″ seam that will be at the finished edge of the ottoman at the bottom. Fold up to your line and press. Then fold this seam over and press again. Sew along this seam to create your finished edge. Now your rectangles are 10.5″ tall. Here is what my edge looks like:

IMG_20170425_155143012

Pin one 24″ x 10.5″ rectangle to a 19″ x 10.5″ rectangle and sew along the 10.5″ side. Continue sewing your rectangles by alternating the long and short sides, and then finally sew the remaining sides together. You now have a tube of fabric.

Take your tube of fabric and lay it right sides together with your big rectangle. Take the 24″ x 10.5″ side and line it up with the 24″ side of your rectangle. Pin along the whole length. At your corners, undo part of your seam so that you can create a 45 degree angle. Continue pinning around the whole rectangle in this manner. IMG_20170425_154917105Then sew and pivot at your corners. I have my fabric at the corners at a 45 degree angle. I can see where the line from the tube is and sew up to there. Then I go backwards a little bit to secure this corner. After I go back, I pick my needle up and turn my fabric. I also change the fabric so the top fabric is at a 45 degree angle.

I like to zigzag all my raw edges to prevent fraying! Then inside it out and you are done!

IMG_20170425_123139

Let me know if you have any questions!

