The first thing I did with this chair when I got it was to measure all the different parts to it. This chair seemed more square than the first one I did so I thought it would make the process easier by cutting rectangles of fabric that were approximately the size of the chair. And boy did that help!

Chair Dimensions: all dimensions are in inches

  • Back of the chair: 22 wide x 29.5 long
  • Front of the chair where your back would go: 26.5 wide x 24 long
  • Arms of the chair: 26 wide x 13.5 long (2)
  • Sides of chair: 24.5 wide x 21 tall (2)
  • Seat: 20 wide x 23 long
  • Front skirt: 25 wide x 10.5 long

So I cut pieces of fabric that were 1 – 2 inches bigger than each of these dimensions, and I started working from the back of the chair. I don’t have a great process for doing this….

My Bernina 765 does an amazing job of sewing, and the dual feed is very helpful with this thick fabric! I sewed the back of the chair piece to the front. Then I sewed the sides of the chair to the arms. I then sewed the arms to the seat of the chair. Then I figured out where they overlapped and pinned them while the material was on the chair inside out. And here is my final product!

IMG_20170425_151908

Seat Cushion: 4″ tall x 20″ tall x 19″ wide in front and 17″ wide in back

  • cut 2: 20″ wide x 21″ tall pieces for the seat   Then from the 20″ side measure in 1″ and use a ruler to go from that point to the other end. Cut along this line. Repeat on the other corner.
  • cut 2: 3.5″ x 30″ long piece for the zipper part
  • cut 1: 52″ x 5″ piece to go around the rest of the cushion. This piece is longer than necessary

Sew the 2 3.5″ x 30″ pieces together using a 3/4″ seam allowance and do big basting stitches. I set my machine stitch length almost to 5. You will be seam ripping this seam as this is where the zipper goes. Note: I use a bigger seam allowance because the zipper I bought is bigger than a normal one. Press the seam open.IMG_20170425_171656837

Bring this piece of fabric to your machine along with your zipper, and put your zipper foot on your machine. Move your needle all the way to the left. Place your zipper teeth along this opened seam and start stitching.

Go down one side of the zipper and then turn your fabric and go down the other side. Once you are done, turn this new piece of fabric over and seam rip your seam to expose the zipper teeth. I also zigzag where the zipper and the 3/4″ seam are by folding the fabric over. This helps hold the zipper in place more securely and helps with fraying.IMG_20170426_102423518_HDR

Next you are ready to attach the 52″ x 5″ piece of fabric to this zipper piece. I attach it to the side where the zipper slide is because I like creating a pocket where the zipper can hide in. I first pin the two pieces together and then sew a 1/2″ seam allowance. Once I do this, I then turn the fabric right side up, and fold the fabric over by 1.5″ or so and stitch along that line to create a nice finished fold. I stitch down the fold so it makes the next steps easier.

Now we are ready to attach this piece to the bottom of the cushion. I begin by finding the middle of the zippered piece and pin that to the middle of the back part of the cushion. I pin all the way up to the corner where I snip a 45 degree angle. I also use my ruler to draw a line on the opposite part of the zipper part so I know that should be at the corner also.

I continued to pin all the way around until I reached the part where the pieces were apart. I saw exactly where they matched, and drew a line 1″ away from the piece that doesn’t have the zipper. I cut the fabric on that line, and then put right sides together and sewed using a 1/2″ seam.

Then I was able to pin the rest of the way and brought it to my machine. At the corners I stopped about 1/2″ from the corner, I went backwards and forwards to secure these stitches. I picked my needle up and pivoted to the next side. I continued in this fashion around the whole cushion.

The reason I drew the lines on each of the corners was so that I could match them up when I go to put on the other side. This is an easy way to match up the corners perfectly. Make sure to open up the zipper so that you can turn the cushion inside out. IMG_20170426_110703002

Again, I snip each of the corners at a 45 degree angle and pin around the whole cushion. Bring it back to your sewing machine, and sew the lastpart up.

After this step, I do zigzag each of the seams to help the cushion from fraying too much.

 

And your cushion is all finished. Enjoy it on your chair! Happy Sewing!

Save

